Slideshow image

The tentative date for the election of a new bishop for the diocese of islands and inlets has been announced at June 27, 2020.

In a letter to Anglicans of the diocese the chancellor, Robert Gill outlined the process and timeline for the election, including guidelines for nominations.

This letter summarizes for convenience the provisions of the diocesan constitution, canons and regulations, available online at   

Dear Fellow Anglicans of the Islands and Inlets,

By now you have received and considered the letter from Bishop Logan, announcing his retirement, effective May 1, 2020.

I am writing to explain the process that will be followed as we pursue a transition to new episcopal governance. The decision whether to hold an election for a successor to Bishop Logan will be made by Archbishop Melissa Skelton.

While there is no reason to expect anything other than a positive response, the matter is still one within her absolute discretion. In this letter, I will address the process that will be followed if it is her decision that the election proceed.

Diocesan Council will appoint a team to prepare an updated diocesan profile. Upon Council's approval of this document, it will be distributed together with a formal summons to the members of Synod to an episcopal election, to be held at the Cathedral within 45 to 60 days.

It is tentatively planned that the election will take place on Saturday, June 27, 2020.

In response to the summons, nominations may be submitted in writing, signed by any one member of Synod, and accompanied by the signed consent of the nominee. Nominations will be due within twenty days of the issuance of the summons. ; tentatively the due date has been set at May 19, 2020.

The nominations will be received in confidence by the executive, clerical and lay secretaries.

To be eligible for nomination, a candidate must:

• Be of the full age of 30, and under the mandatory retirement age of 70. 

• Be a Priest in Holy Orders of the Anglican Church of Canada or of some church in full communion with it.

• Not be "deficient in learning, training or experience".

• Not have secured office by improper means.

• Not have been guilty of "any crime or immorality".

• Not have taught or held within the past five years anything contrary to the doctrine or discipline of the Anglican Church of Canada.

Members of Synod, competent to sign a nomination (and to attend and vote at the electoral synod), are:

• The clergy of the diocese, who are licensed to a definite sphere of work within or without the Diocese, and are not members of another Anglican Diocese.

• Retired clergy who are serving as interim priest-in-charge.

• Clergy who have retired from active work in the Diocese within the six months preceding the electoral synod.

• Ministers of other denominations who are licensed by the bishop for special work in ministering to congregations provided that denomination is in full communion with the Anglican Church of Canada.

• The chancellor, the vice-chancellor, the registrar, the lay secretary and the treasurer. • The diocesan president of Anglican Church Women.

• The lay delegates elected by parishes or congregations.

• The youth lay delegates elected by the regions.

The secretaries will submit the nominations of qualified candidates to Diocesan Council, which will sit as a nominating committee. The committee will determine the candidates to be placed on the first ballot at the electoral synod.

The list of candidates, with background supporting information, will be made available to members of Synod at least ten days prior to the electoral synod.

The electoral synod will be presided over by the Archbishop or her designate. The chair shall not have a vote.

At the time of the synod, members may add names to the first ballot, with the consent of the nominee. Names may only be added to subsequent ballots with the consent of a majority of both orders (clergy and lay).

The quorum for the electoral synod is two-thirds of each order, present in person. There is no provision for proxy voting. The orders shall vote separately, and to be elected a candidate must receive a majority (50% plus one) of the votes cast by each order. Balloting may continue until such a majority is achieved. After any ballot, a candidate may choose to withdraw. If there has been no election after the third ballot, the number of candidates shall be reduced to five (if in fact five candidates or more remain). On each succeeding ballot, the candidate receiving the fewest votes shall be removed from eligibility until only two names remain.

Deo volente, the installation and consecration of the 14th Bishop of British Columbia will take place at the Cathedral on Saturday, September 26, 2020

April 27 - Electoral synod summoned
May 1 - Bishop's retirement
May 19 - Nominations due
May 28 - Diocesan council sits as the nominating committee
June 17 - Nominations list distributed to members of the Synod
June 27 - Electoral synod, Christ Church Cathedral
September 26 - Installation and consecration of the 14th bishop, Christ Church Cathedral